Walk cycle progress

In today’s lesson I learned a lot about how a walk cycle works and how much of the body moves when you walk for example the shoulders and hips, having a reference helps a lot in trying to figure out how to properly animate a character and this then lets me experiment a bit more and make a walk cycle that is different and not so realistic like my real life reference.

I have done the first half of my walk cycle and I have tried to make everything look like it should be in real life but I think that I need to make the hip movements more noticeable but I have moved the shoulders, wrist, elbow, knee and the rest to make it look like a proper walk cycle.

I think the thing I need to improve the most on is my transition between frames because I always manage to make the animation either to slow or to fast and also maybe use a reference because most of the time I only do it in my head which leads to some of the walking looking a bit strange.

Leave a comment